Eggplants from my garden

Young eggplants

Eggplant Parmesan

These wonderful young eggplants have been sprouting from my plants.  And I decided to make Eggplant Parmesan minus the breading and frying.  So I sliced the eggplant lengthwise, oiled them and put them on the grill skin and all.  While they were on the grill I made a fresh tomato sauce using my standard recipe:

Put a few chopped cloves of garlic and one or two chopped hot peppers to cook in hot olive oil in a frying pan, do not let the garlic burn! but after 2 minutes, add 2-3 cups of fresh chopped tomatoes into the oil with 1/2 salt and 1/2 cup of chopped fresh basil, turn up the heat for a few minutes, and then let simmer on a lower heat for 5-6 minutes to let the sauce thicken.  Once it has thickened, add more (1/4 cup) of basil.  It is done!

Next, begin to make the Eggplant Parm.  Layer the grilled eggplant in a casserole dish, starting first with a few spoons of the sauce.  Sprinkle each layer with grated Parmesan and grated Romano.  Repeat for three or four layers.  Bake in a 350 oven for 20-30 minutes.   Delicious!!!

